The Next Big Thing

As Kate said in her blog I haven’t the faintest idea of how this started but it seems like a good thing and I’m more than happy to take part. I was tagged by Iain Parke, part of the ASMSG group.

What is the working title of your book?
The final choice I went for was, “A Plague of Dissent”, after much deliberation. It was originally called “All Those Concerned” as there are a great many characters within the novel with similar intent but my agent asked me to change it. He thought it didn’t immediately conjure up an image of the story. I must admit I’m glad I did.

Where did the idea for your book come from?
Much of the initial impetus for the novel came from real events. The hacking scandal and particularly the News of the World’s hacking of the poor little girls phone was certainly one, others were all the political and police corruption but has been going in the UK for the last few years, and more, arseholes like the Murdoch’s, Coulson, Brooks and of course Cameron, where all drivers. I bound them up in a fictional package and used that as a backdrop for a novel that I had wanted to write for a long time but wasn’t sure I could. Hopefully it’s not turned out to bad.

What genre does it fall under?
When my agent first contacted me he asked the same question, there is a romance going on under the covers, as there is a fair amount of sex, a fair bit of humour and adventure but as far as I am concerned it is a thriller.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Penelope Cruise perhaps as Isobel, I could see Clive Owen, Tom Hardy and Liev Schrieiber in there

What is a one-sentence synopsis of your book?
A story of greed and corruption; where riots and civil unrest are turning the country upside down and a small group of men attempting to use this anarchy, spreading across the country, to further their own agendas.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
The book is being published as an e-book by Aventura eBooks, Click here for link

How long did it take to write the first draft of your manuscript?
I wasn’t working on it full time and it was probably done over a period of about 6 months

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
I’m not really sure I can.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?
I have always been avid reader. Always had a book with me when I traveled, which used to be almost constantly. On many occasions it was one bought at the last minute before I got on a plane, bought usually on the back of the book blurb and its position in book charts. I found all too frequently those books disappointing and thought I could do better but never really had any confidence in my writing ability. It wasn’t until I wrote by PhD dissertation recently that I could write to a reasonable standard.
With this confidence boaster I began writing up an idea I’d had one night and based it amongst real events that where happening around me at that time and still are.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
It’s basically a true story, OK I’ve fictionalized it but most of what I have written has happened but I hope the parts that haven’t, don’t, otherwise were all up shit street.

An addition thing that might be of interest is that a percentage of the sales revenue will go towards the construction of a new community centre at the Plymstock Oaks Rugby Football Club

A Plague of Dissent:
A fast paced thriller, bursting with political intrigue and corruption. It paints a picture of the UK, where media companies hack into personnel communications at will, in search of their next headline. Of politicians lining their pockets with falsified expense claims and crooked practices operate within the police force. Where government contracts can be bought and sold by those that have the Prime Ministers ear; that to, also on sale for the right price; with banks and corporations making millions at the expense of the man in the street.
A story of greed and corruption; where riots and civil unrest are turning the country upside down and a small group of men attempting to use this anarchy that is spreading across the country to further their own agendas.
Into this nightmare scenario are dragged a young man Adam, his girl friend Isobel and his brother Dan. They are pursued by the faceless men who believe they are party to information that could comprise their mission and have two choices, to run or, to turn and fight for their lives.
Excerpts available at www.nictaylor.net

Here are the four authors I have tagged:
Brian Rodgers – http://www.byrogers.com/
Ann Logsdon – annlogsdon.blogspot.com
Gretchen Elhassani — publottery.blogspot.com
Terri Louise — http://gradergalbooks.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

